CHORES🚽, SEX ED 💏, & DREAM JOBS👩🏾‍🍳 : THE CAUSE FOR THE TEENAGE EMOTIONAL CRISIS.

L I S T E N I N G  T O  🎧🎼 : “I Don’t Want To Be by Gavin DeGraw”

Social contradictions.

That is what we are talking about today ladies and gentleman!

I read something from my sociology textbook that absolutely blew my mind…

I read that much of our teenage “confusion” and emotional turmoil wasn’t just caused by puberty or hormonal imbalance , but rather by society. How? Through SOCIAL CONTRADICTIONS! YES! Finally something we can blame the world for!

I’ll give you an example. Let’s go with chores. We are taught as children to be take responsibility and clean up our own messes correct? Yet we are made to clean up the messes our parents and siblings created because it “teaches responsibility”. Look, it may have when I was 9 with no other real responsibilities but I’m 17, about to be in college, an AP student, plus maybe an athlete this upcoming school year, not to mention that I would like to sit down and write an actual book before my senior year is through… So yeah, it’s safe to say I know a thing or two about responsibility. But we don’t ever say this to our parents, we just get it done because we don’t want to deal with the confrontation all of the time.

Another example. Sex education. ( A post about this is DEFINITELY coming soon). We are taught in our health classes to maintain abstinence and encouraged by our parents to wait, yet we live in a hyper-sexualized society that glorifies sex in almost everything we do. See the conflict there? My parents and school are telling to stay pure while literally the rest of the world is telling me to do what I want. And so our teenage selves are conflicted.

Even down to our dreams. We have the world saying “follow your dreams, it’s the only way to find happiness” while our parents, friends, and sometimes teachers say that we should be practical and find jobs that will give steady pay and have benefits. What a waste of a life doing something you’re not passionate about just for a nice paycheck. I refused to be motivated by money which is why I won’t be going to med school even though I could. Much rather prefer poli-sci and education thank you.

 

parents-go-to-college-parents-but-not-that-major-parents-3816598

So you see, we are not crazy, we are not going through some crisis as teenagers…only a conflict. Everyday we have to choose which side to follow, and sometimes we don’t know which way we want to go, which to the adults equals some sort of emotional distress caused by our hormones.

I would like to wonder what our teenage years would be like if the world made up its mine about the issues of humanity. But the world itself is conflicted so that probably wont happen for an eternity. Perhaps this why “teen angst” is a thing, because almost everything slightly hypocritical.

Or maybe it’s just hormones.

And that’s all I have to say about that… Thank you so much for reading ❤

P.S. Can you think of any more social contradictions that have added to our emotional teen years? Drop some in the comments ✌🏾

~thatfamousblackgirl 👸🏾

 

Leave a Reply

